17 Scholars Honored At Franklin Walter Scholarship Program

17 Scholars Honored At Franklin Walter Scholarship Program

  • 3/17/2017 10:25:42 AM
  • WMFD Digital Team
  • Local News

MANSFIELD, OH - Mid-Ohio Educational Service Center recognized 17 graduating seniors from area school districts for their academic success, school and community service at its annual Franklin B. Walter Scholarship Award Program on March 15.

Seven students were awarded $500 scholarships based on their school grades, test scores, activities and a personal goal statement. Each student read aloud his or her tribute to an educator who made a positive impact on their lives

Winners of the $500 scholarships from Mid-Ohio ESC included Jenna Lybarger, Shelby; Eden Stephey, Tiffin; Emma Studer, Buckeye Central; and Logan Veley, Highland.

A $500 scholarship sponsored by the Adena Corporation was awarded to Brianna Wallis, Galion. Taylor Zody, Lucas, received a $500 scholarship sponsored by STARTEK and Angela Evans, Ontario, received a $500 scholarship sponsored by Ohio Health.

Others honored as Franklin B. Walter Scholarship Award nominees included Anastasia Axiopoulou, Mansfield; Kristen Duryea, Northmor; Derek Goodman, Cardington-Lincoln; Leah Lewis, Lexington; Kendra Linn, Pioneer Career and Technical Center; Allison Nalley, Crestview; Travis Nedrow, Madison; Bailey Plumley, Bucyrus; Jared Reed, Plymouth-Shiloh; and Courtney Swanger, Crestline.

“Students, your achievements led you to this evening, and we are all excited to celebrate your accomplishments,” Mid-Ohio ESC Superintendent Linda T. Keller told the students as she and Board of Governors President Mary Dixon welcomed the group. Each student was also awarded a gift bag with items donated by 30 area businesses, including Avita and Richland Bank.

Doug Theaker, longtime Mid-Ohio ESC Board of Governors member, said, “This is a tremendous evening to recognize the best of the best in our school districts. It is an honor to be a part of the Franklin B. Walter award evening.

To honor former State Superintendent Dr. Franklin B. Walter, the Ohio Educational Service Center Association (OESCA) established the Franklin B. Walter All-Scholastic Awards to promote student achievement and recognize academic accomplishment. One student from each of Ohio’s 88 counties will be honored at a ceremony in April in Columbus. Highland Local senior Logan Veley will represent Morrow County. Tiffin City Schools senior Eden Stephey will represent Seneca County.

Mid-Ohio Educational Service Center, located at the Mid-Ohio Conference Center at 890 W. Fourth St. in Mansfield, provides high quality, cost-effective, specialized academic/ therapy support services and professional development for school districts in the Central Ohio Region. These include offering alternative educational options, preschool education and printing services, as well as conference center facilities.

More Local News

Our top stories from around the area
  • Downtown Galion Veteran Banners Honor Local Heroes

    • 6/20/2018 7:35:50 PM
    • Jesse Smith
    • Local News

    "Operation: Honor, Respect, Recognize" went into effect this week, with Historical Society members and volunteers hanging the banners up and down lamp posts along Harding Way.

Local News

More stories from around the area